Ogii Review of; The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon

The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-TimeThe Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon
My rating: 1 of 5 stars

Honestly, this book bored the hell out of me. I didn’t like it and the whole time I was reading it, I just wanted it to finish. I’m pretty sure that I fell asleep during one point at the beginning of the book. I understand the point of view that the story was written from, and therefore it was in a form which seemed like a child wrote the book, but I didn’t enjoy it. It is a children’s book, so therefore it has to be simple, but it is also for mature readers. Also, I predicted everything that was going to happen, therefore there was no sort of suspense or drive to continue reading in order to fuel the need to know what was going to happen next. Things in the book could have been handled better, and honestly, they would have been in real life. So therefore they should have been since the book is set with proper facts. I didn’t enjoy the book, but other might.

View all my reviews

This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Ogii Review of; The Curious Incident of the Dog in the Night-Time by Mark Haddon

  1. The book is written from the point of view of someone with Asperger syndrome…..did you not realise that?

    • ogiireviews says:

      of course i realised that!
      what I’m trying to say is that there would be much more precautions for the child that the book does not factor in. Especially because it is trying to base a lot of things on facts.
      im not trying to be offensive to anyone with the disability, i just didn’t enjoy the book. In my opinion, it’s well written, but it could have been better.
      The author has captured the point of view very well, but some things not so well.

Leave a Reply

